Help

Retract or delete a BBM message


If you didn't mean to send a particular message, you can retract it. When you retract a message, it no longer appears on your device or your contact's device.

If you want to remove the messages from your device only, you can delete a message. When you delete a message, it still appears on your contact's device.

  1. In a chat, touch and hold a message or picture that you sent.
  2. Tap Delete Message.
  3. Do one of the following:
    • To delete the message or picture from your device only, tap Delete.
    • To retract the message from your contact's device, tap Retract.

Retract all messages in a chat

When you end a chat with a contact, you can retract all the messages that you sent in the chat. When you retract a chat, all the messages you sent in that chat no longer appear on your device or your contact's device.
  1. In the chats list, touch and hold a chat.
  2. Tap End Chat.
  3. Tap Retract Chat.

Edit a message

If you made a mistake in a message that you sent, you can edit your message. When you edit a message, the original message is retracted and it appears in the message field so you can easily make your changes and resend it.
  1. In a chat, touch and hold a message you sent.
  2. Tap Edit.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.